Top Resources
CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINHAL) literature. Indexes nursing and allied health journals.    

Medline Restricted Resource Some full text available
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Iris Godwin

Iris Godwin
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: 541-885-1965

Picture: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen

Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
Wilsonville Librarian
Tel: 503-821-1258

Using the CINHAL/Mesh Headings
Peer Review in 3 minutes
Searching Medline
Cochrane Library
Additional Resources
Cochrane Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence that inform healthcare decision-making. It is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews and has many clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. Use this resource when looking for evidence-based information.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource
From the library homepage, Electronic Resources: Link to full-text articles from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or Oregon Tech Library subscription databases by accessing PubMed. Content includes from the late 1940s to present. Includes access to MEDLINE abstracts and some selected articles.   
Cochrane Library Tutorial
See the video on searching in the Cochrane Library for systematic reviews. It is both informative about the Cochrane Library and shows how to create a simple search. To search by subject in the Libraries Catalog, Cochrane Library, or PubMedMeSH terms may be used for better results. If you are not sure what MeSH is, watch the video, "Mesh Headings Part I & Part II"?

How will MeSH Improve Research?
PubMed Advanced Search Builder
Selected Websites
Critical Appraisal or Evaluating Research Studies
What is a critical appraisal? Watch, "Introduction to Critical Appraisal". Trisha Grennlaugh's book that is mentioned in the video, How To Read a Paper is available in print and electronic format from the Oregon Tech Library.
Introduction to Critical Appraisal
Last Updated November 2015