Top Resources
Use this guide to find college-level resources to support research in the areas of diagnostic medical sonography, echocardiography, nuclear medicine, and radiography. See tabs above for individual program subject guides as they are completed.

CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINHAL) literature. Indexes nursing and allied health journals.    

Medline Restricted Resource Some full text available
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

Need Medical Images or Animations?
SMART imagebase Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics.


 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Iris Godwin

Iris Godwin
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: 541-885-1965

CINHAL/MeSH Searching
Searching Medline
More resources
To search by subject in the Libraries CatalogCochrane Library, or PubMedMeSH terms should be used for improved results. If you are not sure what MeSH is, watch the video, "What is and what will MeSH do for your research"? Part I (5.5 min) Where is MeSH used? Part II (2 min.)

If a simple search in PubMed, does not retrieve the articles for which you are searching, try PubMed Advanced Search Builder.

PubMed Unrestricted Resource
From the library homepage, Electronic Resources: Link to full-text articles from PubMed Central, publisher web sites, or Oregon Tech Library subscription databases by accessing PubMed. Content includes from the late 1940s to present. Includes access to MEDLINE abstracts and some selected articles.   

Cochrane Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contains high-quality, independent evidence that inform healthcare decision-making. It is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews and has many clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. Use this resource when looking for evidence-based information. 

See the video below on searching in the Cochrane Library for systematic reviews (5.5 min.). It is both informative about the Cochrane Library and shows how to create a simple search. 
MeSH
PubMed Advanced Search Builder
Cochrane Library Searching
See Evidence-based Practice Subject Guide
Critical Appraisal or Evaluating Research Studies
What is a critical appraisal? Watch, "Introduction to Critical Appraisal". Trisha Grennlaugh's book that is mentioned in the video, How To Read a Paper is available in print and electronic format from the Oregon Tech Library.




Last updated November 2015