Top Resources
CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINHAL) literature. Indexes nursing and allied health journals.    

Medline Restricted Resource Some full text available
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains information needed by nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.

 




 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Iris Godwin

Iris Godwin
Technical Services Librarian
Tel: 541-885-1965

Using CINHAL/MeSH Headings
Peer Review in 3 Minutes
Searching Medline
Additional Resources
Cochrane Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence that inform healthcare decision-making. It is primarily used for its database of systematic reviews and has many clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations. Use this resource when looking for evidence-based information.
Cochrane Library and PubMed Tutorials
See the video on searching in the Cochrane Library for systematic reviews below. It is both informative about the Cochrane Library and shows how to create a simple search. To search by subject in the Libraries Catalog, Cochrane Library or PubMedMeSH terms should be used for best results. If you are not sure what MeSH is watch the video, "What is and what will MeSH do for your research"?




 
Cochrane Library
How will MeSH improve your research?
PubMed Advanced Search Builder
Trip Database
Trip DataBase
1997-present. A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence by simultaneously searching multiple sites.
Need Images?
SMART imagebase Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics.
Additional Resources
Pedro (The Physiotherapy Evidence Database) 
Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most include quality ratings to assist in justifying a validity and interpretability. Provided by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy and maintained at the University of Sydney.

Watch the Pedro 5:50 minute video to know how to perform a simple search or link to the Simple Search box through the link provided above. 

Smoking & Health Resource Library
The database contains abstracts of articles from medical and professional journals; books and book chapters; dissertations; reports; conference proceedings and conference papers; government documents from federal, state, local, and foreign entities; fact sheets and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofit organizations; and other documents. New Citations include recently published tobacco-related articles from peer-reviewed journals of behavioral, scientific, and medical literature.